Substantial Announces New Upcoming Album

Intimate and laid back, this newly released contemporary hip-hop gem features visceral beats and cunning lyrics that enlighten and inspire. New songs and new arrangements of earlier songs from his recent EPs, taking listeners on a journey through the past, present and future. The Past Is Always Present In The Future cements Substantial's musical legacy as one of Maryland's proudest and most prolific sons.

TPIAPITF includes production from DC producer, Oddisee, Seattle producer and 1/2 of Bop Alloy, Marcus D, Mello Music Group producer, Gensu Dean, label mates The Other Guys & JSOUL, Algorythm of The Stuyvesants and Good Compny Drummer, Jon Laine. Substantial's fourth solo album also features guest appearances by QN5 Music's Tonedeff, fellow Nujabes collaborators Cise Starr of CYNE and Uyama Hiroto, GRAMMY nominated singer/songwriter Wayna and more.

Pre-orders are available now via iTunes and Bandcamp and will be released digitally on January 6, 2017Compact Discs ship on January 13, 2017 and cassettes and vinyl will be announced at a later date.


1. Exposition (prod. JSOUL) 

2. Made In Maryland (ft. 
Steph The Sapphic Songstress & DJ Jav) (prod. Oddisee) 
3. No Turning Back 2.0 (ft. Uyama Hiroto) (prod. The Other Guys) 
4. MLK (Dream Big) 2.0 (ft. See King & Matthew Shell)(prod. The Other Guys) 
5. Follow The Master (prod. The Other Guys) 

6. The Sub Way (ft. 
Precious Joubert)(prod. Marcus D) 
7. Party With Purpose (ft. Steph The Sapphic Songstress)(prod. Marcus D) 
8. Black of All Trades (V2) (prod. The Other Guys) 
9. No Better Time (ft. 
Cise Starr & DJ Jav)(prod. Marcus D) 

10. PTXD (prod. Jon Laine) 
11. In My Daughter's Eyes (ft. 
JSOUL)(prod. Jon Laine) 
11. It Could Happen (prod. Gensu Dean) 
13. The 4our Fors (ft. 
Greenspan)(prod. Oddisee) 

ALWAYS (All tracks produced by Algorythm) 
14. Tony Stanza (ft. Tonedeff & Marcus D)
15. Lasting Impression (ft. Wayna)
16. Wish U Were Here (ft. Steph The Sapphic Songstress)
17. Always (ft. Fjer)